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Overview 
• Certification is the transfer of a juvenile’s case from juvenile court to criminal court 

(the adult system) 
• Certification does not determine guilt or punishment 
• If certified, the case may be dismissed or the juvenile may be placed on probation or 

incarcerated 
• Eligibility Requirements 

– Under Family Code 54.02(a), for juveniles under age 18 at the time of the 
juvenile court certification proceedings: 

• An adjudication hearing must not have occurred for the certification-eligible offense 
• The juvenile must have been: 

– At least age 14 or older at the time the alleged offense was committed for capital felonies, 
aggravated controlled substance felonies, or first degree felonies 

– At least age 15 or older at the time the alleged offense was committed for second degree, 
third degree, or state jail felonies 

• The juvenile court must conduct a full investigation and hearing and find: 
– Probable cause that the juvenile committed the alleged offense 
– Public safety requires certification given the seriousness of the alleged offense or the 

juvenile’s background 
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Overview 

• Eligibility Requirements (continued) 
– Under Family Code 54.02(j), for individuals age 18 or older at the time of 

juvenile court certification proceedings 
• An adjudication hearing must not have occurred for the certification-eligible offense 
• The individual must have been: 

– At least age 10 and under age 17 at the time the alleged offense was committed for capital 
felonies or murder 

– At least age 14 and under age 17 at the time the alleged offense was committed for 
aggravated controlled substance felonies and first degree felonies (except murder)  

– At least age 15 and under age 17 at the time the alleged offense was committed for second 
degree, third degree, and state jail felonies 

• The juvenile court finds: 
– Probable cause that the individual committed the alleged offense 
– It was not feasible to process the case in juvenile court before the individual’s 18th 

birthday 
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Certification Trends, FY05 – FY11 

 
Legislative Budget Board     March 6, 2012    Page 3 

159 

229 
200 

245 
231 234 

180 

0 

100 

200 

300 

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 

Certifications* have been stable over the last 7 years. 

Data Source: Texas Juvenile Justice Department 
 
* The certification counts reflect the number of unduplicated juveniles certified within a fiscal year. 



Offense Types, FY05 – FY11 
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Most juveniles are certified for violent offenses. 
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Offense Types in Detail, FY11 
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Robbery, sexual assault, and homicide accounted for  
two-thirds of certification offenses in fiscal year 2011. 

Data Source: Texas Juvenile Justice Department 



Determinate and Indeterminate 
Sentence Offenses, FY09 – FY11 
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Indeterminate sentence offenses account for a small 
but slightly rising share of certification offenses. 
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Data Source: Texas Juvenile Justice Department 

Determinate sentence offenses  cover approximately 30 felony offenses, can entail a maximum sentence of between 10 and 40 years depending on the offense, and 
may result in the transfer of a juvenile into the adult criminal justice system following a term of probation or commitment to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department 
state residential facilities. 



Demographics, FY11 

 
Legislative Budget Board     March 6, 2012    Page 7 

Nearly all certifications are 16 years of age or older, 
male, and Hispanic or African American. 

Data Source: Texas Juvenile Justice Department 

Age at Certification Gender Race/Ethnicity 

14 0.6% Male 96.1% Hispanic 50.6% 

15 6.1% Female 3.9% African American 31.7% 

16 40.6% Total 100.0% Anglo 17.8% 

17 36.7% Total 100.0% 

18 and Up 16.1% 

Total 100.0% 
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